ComputeLabs Research

AI & Compute Infrastructure — August 15, 2026

Edition of · 19 stories

Macro, Policy & Capital

NVIDIA disclosed 122.8 million SpaceX shares worth nearly $21 billion as of June 30 through its quarterly securities filing. #

NVIDIA disclosed the SpaceX position for the first time in a Form 13F filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. The filing showed that NVIDIA held 122.8 million SpaceX shares at the end of the second quarter on June 30.

The disclosed position was valued at nearly $21 billion. The source characterized NVIDIA as SpaceX’s sixth-largest shareholder and reported NVIDIA’s market capitalization at $5.5 trillion at the time.

The information represents a reported securities holding as of the filing date, not a newly announced investment transaction. The source did not provide NVIDIA’s acquisition dates, purchase price, voting rights, lock-up conditions, or subsequent changes in the position.

Additional reporting

  • NVIDIA
  • June 30

Harvard Management Company disclosed a $2.2 billion SpaceX holding, its largest position within a $4.3 billion U.S.-equity portfolio. #

Harvard Management Company, the organization that manages Harvard University’s investments, reported a SpaceX position valued at $2.2 billion in a regulatory filing made on Friday. SpaceX was the largest disclosed single holding in its $4.3 billion U.S.-equity portfolio.

The source said Harvard had invested in SpaceX during the company’s private-market period through venture-capital channels. SpaceX’s June initial public offering converted the company into a publicly traded holding, but the source did not disclose Harvard’s original investment cost or acquisition dates.

Harvard Management Company managed approximately $57 billion in assets as of June 2025, according to the report. The University of California’s investment organization separately disclosed an approximately $1 billion SpaceX position, while the University of North Carolina and Washington University in St. Louis were also reported as holders.

Additional reporting

  • Harvard Management Company

A federal appeals court ordered reconsideration of DJI’s Pentagon blacklist designation, permitting review of classified records. #

The U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit ordered a lower court to reconsider DJI’s inclusion on the Pentagon’s list of “Chinese military companies.” The appellate court found fault with the earlier ruling because it relied only on unclassified information.

The lower court had concluded from public materials that DJI contributed to China’s defense industrial base. The appellate ruling said the lower court may review classified records during reconsideration and use them to decide whether the Defense Department’s designation should stand.

The decision ordered further proceedings rather than removing DJI from the list. The source did not state that the blacklist designation had been vacated or that DJI had received a final judgment in its favor.

Additional reporting

  • DJI’s Pentagon blacklist designation

Fujian targets more than RMB 300 billion in integrated-circuit and optoelectronics output and a RMB 100 billion-class AI cluster by 2030. #

Fujian’s 15th Five-Year Plan for emerging and future industries sets 2030 targets for multiple industrial clusters. The province aims for its integrated-circuit and optoelectronics cluster to exceed RMB 300 billion and for artificial intelligence to become an RMB 100 billion-class cluster.

The plan also targets an RMB 1 trillion-class new-energy cluster and a new-materials cluster exceeding RMB 900 billion. Biomedicine, energy conservation and environmental protection, and the low-altitude economy are also designated as prospective RMB 100 billion-class clusters.

At the broader industrial level, Fujian aims for strategic emerging industries to account for approximately 35% of output from industrial enterprises above the designated size by 2030. The plan also calls for society-wide research-and-development expenditure to grow by an annual average of 10% and seeks several RMB 10 billion-class future-industry clusters in areas including hydrogen energy and biomanufacturing.

Additional reporting

  • Fujian

Hefei Guizhen Chip Technology (合肥硅臻芯片技术有限公司) completed a RMB 100 million-plus Series B financing for optical-computing clusters and quantum chipsets. #

Hefei Guizhen Chip Technology (合肥硅臻芯片技术有限公司), referred to in the source as Guizhen Chip (硅臻芯片), completed a Series B financing exceeding RMB 100 million. The report described it as China’s only company producing general-purpose photonic quantum-computing systems.

Weihao Chuangxin (韦豪创芯) and Gettop Acoustic (共达电声) jointly led the round. Huace Film & TV (华策影视), Suzhou Venture Capital Group (苏创投), Suzhou Financial Holding Group (苏金控), Chuangling Capital (创领资本), and Houlang Capital (后浪资本) participated.

The company said the proceeds would mainly fund research and development of a 10,000-qubit dedicated optical-computing cluster and a general-purpose quantum-computing chipset. The source described the transaction as a completed financing but did not provide a post-money valuation, ownership percentages, dilution, security terms, or deployment schedule.

Additional reporting

Chips, GPUs & Systems

The Bank of England warned that expanding AI compute demand is increasing memory-chip costs for phones, laptops, and game consoles. #

The Bank of England warned that rapid growth in artificial-intelligence computing capacity was raising the cost of memory chips used in mobile phones, laptops, and game consoles. The report presented AI-related memory demand as an additional source of price pressure alongside higher energy costs.

July data from the British Retail Consortium indicated that higher chip costs were already passing through to electronics prices. The source did not identify specific memory technologies, manufacturers, chip contract prices, or the size of the resulting retail-price increases.

The warning appeared in the context of upcoming U.K. inflation data, for which surveyed economists’ median forecast was a 2.9% inflation rate in July. That figure was a forecast reported by the source, not a released inflation result.

Additional reporting

Fujian designated integrated circuits, compound semiconductors, advanced displays, and optoelectronic components as four development tracks. #

Fujian’s provincial plan identifies integrated circuits, compound semiconductors, advanced displays, and optoelectronic components as four semiconductor and optoelectronics development tracks. The tracks are intended to address major industrial requirements, including demand associated with artificial intelligence.

For integrated circuits, the plan calls for improved capabilities in chip design, specialty-process chip manufacturing, packaging and testing, and component support. These measures are directed toward future requirements for high-compute, low-power chips.

The compound-semiconductor track covers wide-bandgap and ultra-wide-bandgap semiconductor development and the construction of a full-chain industrial ecosystem. The display track focuses on future display technologies and high-end markets, while the optoelectronic-components track emphasizes core materials and key devices.

Additional reporting

  • Fujian

Lenovo said AI PCs exceed 50% of domestic laptop sales, while global AI-PC sales grew 86% year over year. #

Lenovo Executive Vice President and China President Liu Jun said the company’s AI-PC sales in the global market increased 86% year over year. In China, AI PCs accounted for more than 50% of Lenovo’s total laptop sales.

The figures were presented in connection with Lenovo’s “one body, multiple devices” strategy, under which a personal super-intelligent agent supports multiple endpoints. The source did not give unit shipments, revenue, market-share comparisons, or the exact measurement period beyond the year-over-year statement.

Liu also said Lenovo was upgrading computing capacity on devices and at the edge. The company is moving more token generation to local hardware, with privacy and cost identified as considerations.

Additional reporting

  • Lenovo

KYY X90D combines two 15.6-inch IPS displays with single-cable laptop connectivity in a portable triple-screen setup. #

The KYY X90D portable-monitor system includes two 15.6-inch in-plane switching, or IPS, displays. When positioned around a laptop’s existing screen, the setup provides a three-screen workspace.

ServeTheHome’s review emphasized that the two external monitors can connect to the laptop using one cable. The product is designed to make the expanded display arrangement portable rather than requiring a fixed desktop installation.

The source described the additional display area as providing a productivity benefit during testing. It did not provide panel resolution, refresh rate, brightness, color coverage, power draw, weight, interface specifications, or pricing in the supplied description.

  • KYY X90D

Power, Grid & Data Centers

EDF scheduled the 1,335-megawatt Saint-Alban 2 reactor offline from August 12–24 for environmentally related maintenance. #

Électricité de France, or EDF, reported a planned outage for the 1,335-megawatt Saint-Alban 2 nuclear reactor. The stated reason was maintenance associated with environmental issues.

The outage window began at 12:07 on August 12 and was scheduled to end at 00:00 on August 24. The capacity figure refers to one nuclear reactor, not the combined capacity of the Saint-Alban site.

The notice specified a scheduled maintenance period rather than a permanent retirement or capacity reduction. The source did not describe the environmental issue, the maintenance scope, or whether the stated return time had changed.

Additional reporting

  • EDF
  • August 12–24

Hungary began controlled barge sinking near the Paks nuclear plant, raising pump-station water by one centimeter to prevent turbine shutdowns. #

Hungarian Prime Minister Márton Nagy said controlled sinking of barges had begun near the Paks nuclear power plant as the Danube’s main-channel water level continued to fall. The intervention increased the water level at the plant’s pumping station by one centimeter.

Nagy said that without intervention, the Danube was expected to reach an extremely low level on the evening of August 16. That condition would have forced one of the plant’s two operating turbines to shut down and could have led to a subsequent complete shutdown.

The response included sinking barges and constructing a submerged weir to maintain the required water level. The report did not state that a turbine had already shut down or give the megawatt capacity affected.

Additional reporting

China terminated, revoked registrations for, or canceled more than 1,000 long-idle solar projects during 2026. #

More than 1,000 long-idle photovoltaic projects in China were terminated, had their registrations revoked, or had their accounts canceled during 2026. The affected projects had held development quotas for extended periods without starting construction or had failed to proceed by required deadlines.

The report said many projects had completed paperwork but had no equipment or construction crews on site. Reserved grid-connection capacity consequently remained unused even where other developers sought access.

The article identified hoarding of project quotas and grid-access capacity as a possible motivation for some inactive developments, alongside waiting for costs to decline or following the sector without adequate preparation. It called for both the removal of inactive projects and a continuing management mechanism, but did not provide a province-by-province list or total megawatt capacity.

Additional reporting

Jereh said its data-center business remains early-stage with limited earnings impact while developing integrated generation and distribution systems. #

Jereh Group (杰瑞股份), Shenzhen-listed under ticker 002353, said its data-center business remains at an early stage. The company stated that the business currently has only a limited effect on its operating results.

The company said it is addressing power-generation assurance requirements in complex data-center application scenarios. Its planned technical offering integrates power generation, power distribution, and energy-control management into one system.

The statement was made on an investor-interaction platform and describes the company’s current business status and development focus. It did not disclose customer contracts, revenue, orders, deployed capacity, project locations, hardware suppliers, capital expenditure, or a delivery timetable.

Additional reporting

  • Jereh

Cloud & Compute Infrastructure

Fujian will build an integrated provincial compute network and public intelligent-computing centers (公共智算中心) in Fuzhou, Xiamen, and Zhangzhou. #

Fujian’s provincial plan calls for an integrated province-wide computing-power network and improved artificial-intelligence infrastructure. It specifically directs development of public intelligent-computing centers (公共智算中心) in Fuzhou, Xiamen, and Zhangzhou, alongside a rational distribution of edge-computing nodes.

The plan also calls for expanding AI pilot-scale testing bases and jointly developing an AI for Science platform with national strategic science and technology organizations. No accelerator model, server count, rack count, power capacity, or aggregate compute-performance target was disclosed.

On the data side, Fujian plans to create AI-Ready high-quality datasets in government, healthcare, marine, and other priority fields. It also calls for a provincial data-labeling base and a data-resource development and service system.

The province intends to build or strengthen AI industrial parks and clusters in Fuzhou, Xiamen, and Quanzhou. Additional measures include work on intelligent chips and core algorithms, support for AI-native startups, and low-cost open OPC1 innovation communities for vertical-market prototype development.

Additional reporting

  • Fujian

Nantong Digital Vision OPC Community (南通数视界 OPC 社区) opened with 12 companies, more than 20,000 square meters, and online compute leasing. #

The Nantong Digital Vision OPC Community (南通数视界 OPC 社区) began operations on August 14 with an initial group of 12 resident companies. Operated by the Gangzha Economic Development Zone, the community covers more than 20,000 square meters.

Its focus is digital-culture segments including AI animation and gaming. The project joins other OPC communities already opened in Nantong’s Chongchuan District, including Xinglian New E-commerce (星链·新电商) and Tiangong Kaiwu (天工开物).

The government-built Chongchuang Vision (崇创视界) online platform launched at the same time. Its functions include policy applications, compute leasing, supply-and-demand matching, talent services, and project incubation through a unified online service window.

The source described the platform as supporting companies from technical development through market deployment. It did not disclose the type or quantity of compute available, accelerator suppliers, lease pricing, power capacity, occupancy, or customer commitments.

Additional reporting

Shenzhen Longgang centrally schedules electric mobility devices through unified compute, including 288 autonomous vehicles across 949 delivery routes. #

Shenzhen’s Longgang District reported 949 autonomous-delivery routes served by 288 unmanned vehicles. Of those routes, 265 are dedicated nighttime routes, and nighttime deliveries account for 40% of total delivered cargo volume.

The district said continuous green-power availability increased transport-capacity utilization by 66% and lowered operating costs by 20%. The source did not provide the baseline period, underlying cost amounts, vehicle manufacturers, or the compute hardware used for scheduling.

Longgang described its municipal system as coordinating electricity, ground transport, low-altitude flight, and computing power. Electrically powered ground and aerial devices are placed under unified compute-based scheduling and control.

The district has also built seven low-altitude industrial parks, 202 drone takeoff and landing platforms, and 1,000 controlled routes. It hosts the South China low-altitude intelligent-integration testing base and more than 300 low-altitude-related companies.

Additional reporting

  • Shenzhen Longgang

AI Models, Software & Research

Xiaohongshu released the open-source dots3-note preview; Ascend completed support on Atlas 800 A3 and Atlas 900 A3 SuperPoD. #

Xiaohongshu released the open-source dots3-note preview model on August 14, 2026. The supplied source did not provide the model’s parameter count, architecture, training corpus, license terms, benchmark results, or intended workload.

Huawei’s Ascend ecosystem completed full adaptation of the model on the Atlas 800 A3 and Atlas 900 A3 SuperPoD systems. The Atlas 900 A3 SuperPoD is identified as a supernode system rather than a single accelerator.

Deployment and inference are provided through the open-source vLLM Ascend inference engine. The source said performance optimization was continuing but supplied no latency, throughput, token-rate, precision, or cluster-scale figures.

Additional reporting

  • Xiaohongshu
  • Ascend
  • Atlas 800 A3
  • Atlas 900 A3 SuperPoD

Lenovo is adding Skills to Tianxi AI (天禧 AI) for L3-level task execution while shifting token generation on-device. #

Lenovo Executive Vice President and China President Liu Jun said the company is accelerating the introduction of Skills into Tianxi AI (天禧 AI). The stated objective is to strengthen its L3-level task-execution capability.

On the infrastructure side, Lenovo is upgrading computing capacity at the device and edge layers. It is moving a larger share of token generation onto local devices, with privacy protection and cost control cited as objectives.

The initiative is part of Lenovo’s “one body, multiple devices” strategy, under which a personal super-intelligent agent operates across endpoints. The source did not define the L3 classification, list individual Skills, or identify the processors, neural processing units, memory configurations, or supported token rates.

Lenovo reported separately in the same statement that global AI-PC sales rose 86% year over year and that AI PCs exceeded 50% of domestic laptop sales. No deployment date for the expanded Skills capability or on-device token-generation transition was given.

Additional reporting

  • Lenovo
  • Skills
  • Tianxi AI (天禧 AI)

The 2026 E-Town Robot Consumption Festival (2026 E-Town 机器人消费节) increased dedicated funding from RMB 15 million to RMB 18 million. #

The Beijing Economic-Technological Development Area launched the 2026 E-Town Robot Consumption Festival (2026 E-Town 机器人消费节) on August 15. Its theme is “Buy and sell robots, come to Beijing E-Town” (买卖机器人,到北京亦庄).

Dedicated consumption-promotion funding increased from RMB 15 million at the first festival to RMB 18 million in 2026. The funding is weighted toward artificial intelligence and embodied-intelligence industries.

The festival was described as an upgrade across funding, application scenarios, and the consumer experience. Its stated purpose is to connect robot technology with market consumption and address the final stage between technical development and sales.

The process for obtaining consumption vouchers was simplified through a WeChat mini-program using one-click mobile-number verification. The sources did not provide voucher denominations, purchase limits, eligible robot models, participating-company counts, or realized sales.

Additional reporting

All ComputeLabs Research editions